…just one more page???…

Jerusalem is in the middle of replacing its older bus shelters with a new modern design; complete with LED arrival boards and more comfortable benches. These new urban street furnishings are a welcome addition to a thriving city where the ancint meets the old, the old meets the new.

_DSC0566_DSC0624

But what do you do with hundreds (maybe thousands?) of old bus shelters and benches?

_DSC0523

Turn them into community reading stations! At the end of the street where I am staying, (by the old train tracks that have been skillfully ‘upcycled’ into walking paths), there is a new addition since my last visit. Two old bus shelters, complete with benches, have appeared and are now filled with books! Local residents are free to donate or take any books they like and there are benches to sit and peruse new treasures. Volunteers from nearby tidy up and check on the book stations daily.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There are people there all the time; looking for books, driving up to drop off boxes of books and sitting with friends with a cup of coffee. Genres run the gamut from cookbooks to crime thrillers, art albums to childrens storybooks printed in a world of languages; English, Hebrew, Russian, Italian, French, Spanish, Arabic, German… and even Japanese!

_DSC0549_DSC0531

Love it!  So far, I’ve picked up quite a few new titles to schlepp back in my suitcase! Maybe this is an idea you can use to start a reading station in your community??

By the way, I am trying something new in this post – adding a slideshow.  Please let me know how you like this feature in a photo blog (or is it better just to display all of the photos “gallery” style??).

8 thoughts on “…just one more page???…

  1. I like it just the way it is. I don’t know what you mean by a slide show. Is this it? I particularly like photo journalism . I think it’s a great idea for Warsaw just in case the bus doesn’t come….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Czesc Marysia!

      Bardzo dziekuje za dobrego i milego feedback-u! I love photojournalism as well, exhibits like World Press Photo etc. There is an amazing Polish photographer you might like to have a look at. His name is Kacper Kowalski and he uses a drone to take arial photos. He was featured at this year’s World Press Photo exhibit.

      Great idea about putting books at Warsaw bus stops. I lived in Warsaw for 16 years and I remember those buses that sometimes never appeared (especially on really cold days!).

      Thank you so much for writing and taking an interest in my blog – your support and comments are very appreciated and help me to improve my photography.

      Have a great Sunday! Do zobaczenia,
      🙂 Jacqueline

      Like

    2. Ooops – forgot to add….the slideshow is found in the middle of the post (the photo with the dark “frame” around it. If you hover over it, it will move the next photos. There are also ‘forward’, ‘back’ and play/stop buttons that appear as well. Hope it works. 🙂

      Like

    1. Hi Elise!
      Thank you so much for your great feedback – it really helps me to know what is working out well and where I need to improve. I really appreciate the time you took to read my post and reply. Have a great Sunday!
      🙂 Jacqueline

      Like

Leave a Reply

