Meet and Greet: The People of Basel

In German, residents of Basel are either Basler (for males) or Baslerin (females). In any language, they are interesting to observe as they go about their everyday business around the Marktplatz – the main square downtown. I felt particularly confident today and found that my personal feelings where “absorbed” in my photos – they seemed to be more assertive in capturing personalities and mood. I was especially captivated by the energy of the bagpiper in dreds and the “attitude” of the man with his bicycle. Couldn’t resist snapping away.

_DSC0656  _DSC0651   _DSC0661 (1)_DSC0675  _DSC0624 _DSC0667 _DSC0628 _DSC0650

_DSC0637

6 thoughts on “Meet and Greet: The People of Basel

  1. I admire you for having the courage to photograph strangers! I’m too shy to do street photography.
    I was in Basel recently, it’s a lovely city 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Ines! It is an amazing thing how going out with my camera has helped me to “grow” my confidence. A year ago, I was petrified to take someone’s picture on the street, especially if they knew I was doing so. I am still wary of taking photos of children as their parents might be upset (and I do understand this), and I still have (a lot) of moments where I see an amazing photo opportunity with a person but am too shy to approach. Then I regret the lost opportunity. Just keep trying to take photos on the street, perhaps of people in a crowd or if you are not so obvious to them – that might help you to feel more comfortable and then it will be easier to be a bit more conspicuous. It just takes time and being kind to yourself too when it doesn’t go as planned. You can do it! Thank you so much again for your lovely comment. Please drop by again soon! 🙂

      Like

  2. I just discovered your blog and am very impressed by the photographs – the characters you portray are great, and you have a good eye for remarkable structures in what you see around you. Doskonale!

    Like

    1. Hi Joachim! Dzienkuje bardzo/thank you so much for your very kind comments – they help me a great deal to develop a better feeling for what I can do well and what I can do better. It is a real pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed my pictures! Please drop by again soon! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

