London’s Chinatown

In the middle of London, tucked away behind the bustle and theatres of Leicester Square, not far from the tourist-haven of Covent Garden, you chance upon London’s Chinatown. Visited in early morning, you find the busy life of a vibrant community. By tradition, it is hard to take “street” photos in a Chinese community, people shy away from the lens and some are rather hostile so just keep on going…. That said, the friendly lady in the second photo kept “popping up” unexpectedly in different areas of Chinatown and clearly enjoyed getting her photo taken. 🙂

DSC_0852 DSC_0804 DSC_0849 DSC_0825 DSC_0822      DSC_0802 DSC_0795 DSC_0856

4 thoughts on “London’s Chinatown

  1. Excellent set of images, Jacqueline. I love street photography but don’t live in a ” bustle ” kind of area. You captured so much color and character, nicely done. Have a wonderful day.

    Like

    1. Hi Karin, Thank you so much for the helpful and encouraging comments! Sometimes I think that it can be harder to find something interesting to focus on and capture in a city as there is so much going on all around; so much “visual noise” that distracts. I love taking pictures in small towns as people seem calmer and don’t usually mind a camera being pointed at them, especially if they know you already. I have had a few people become quite agitated and hostile at having their picture taken on a city street. Thank you as well for the kind wishes too – my day was great! How was your’s? 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi Jacqueline, I haven’t done much shooting in the city, don’t have much around me. I would love to get the feel of the ” action ” but I think yes, people may frown on their pictures taken. I went to what we would call ” the big city “, which you wouldn’t…haha and saw a few homeless scattered about but was so afraid to get a picture. One man thought I was taking his picture, but I wasn’t, and had a small tantrum right there on the street. Well, that’s my experience, as little as it is. I live on the coast, surrounded by water, so I don’t get much for human interaction while I’m out and about but I adore looking at what others see. Okay, now I’m just rambling on….Have a great day 😉

    Like

    1. Hi Karin,

      Not to worry, using a camera has helped me to develop a sense of confidence and an identity as a photographer. Today, at the Basel Autumn Fair, I had a few people wag their fingers at me or ask why I had taken their photo (and what I was going to do with them later) and it didn’t faze me – a few years ago, I probably would have deleted the photographs. One man today had a great idea (what do you think?) to make a “business” card with he name of the blog to give to people so they can see what I actually do. My thought though it how to make sure that people don’t then ask for photos to be taken down, etc. (I am carful to be appropriate with the context of my photos and after being a teacher for many years, I try to make sure that children’s faces are not shown in photos, rather the back or side of their heads.).

      Life by the sea sound wonderful and contemplative. Do you write as well? Please keep rambling, it is interesting and makes me think in new ways. Thank you so much for paying so much attention to my work. Please keep in touch and come back for another visit soon. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

